Competition posted by

Fleurop Interflora WorldCup right around the corner

Who will you root for this year?

The Fleurop-Interflora competition is set to take place in Berlin from 11 – 13 June, and world class competitors from eighteen countries have now been announced.

The motto for the World Cup this year is ‘Freedom’, emphasising the importance of freedom and responsibility all over the world and resounding especially clearly in this year’s host city, Berlin. Organisers say, “The pursuit of freedom inspires the imagination, breaks through walls and reaches beyond boundaries.”
This theme will have a strong presence throughout the competition as entrants will be reminded of the immense power of the pursuit for freedom which caused the fall of the Berlin wall just over 25 years ago.

The World Cup is made up of three tasks and a semi-final. The first is totally free of constraints and should reflect the personality of the designer, the second must be a revolutionary hand-tied, the third must use materials that are 100% recycled (so no foam or wire!) and the semi-final is a surprise.

Following a preliminary heat on the Thursday and Friday of the competition, the semi-final for the top ten finalists will be held on Saturday. Later the grand finale will culminate with the award ceremony on Saturday evening.

The World Cup jury members are all experienced competition judges, having been consultants or members of expert committees. The jury operates in line with the Florint international judging system, where 100 is the highest possible score per work-piece and juror. The jurors will evaluate various parameters of each design including technical difficulty.

Competitors announced so far…

Switzerland: Marc Müller

Norway: Åslaug Nevstad Hildre

Estonia: Ahti Lyra

Finland: Pirjo Koppi

Spain: Soraya Rojo Iglesias

Japan: Aritaka Nakamura

Denmark: Kristine Lyngsaa Gudiksen

Netherlands: Martin Groen

Great Britain: Neil Whittaker

Australia: Shauna Larsen

Russia: Irina Zhigalova

Germany: Jürgen Herold

USA: Jacob McCall

Malaysia: Caroline Loo Sooi Hing

Kazakhstan: Ibragim Chupalaev

Austria: Johann Obendrauf

South Korea: Choi Won Chang

France: Frédéric Dupré

You must be logged in to post a comment.


FB Like Box