NEWS posted by

FNGLA’s 2014 industry award winners announced

Each year, the Florida Nursery, Growers and Landscape Association (FNGLA) honors a distinct group of individuals who contribute time and energy into enhancing, protecting and serving Florida’s nursery and landscape industry through the FNGLA Industry Awards Program. This year’s winners will be honored during FNGLA’s Annual Convention in PonteVedraBeach on Saturday, June 21.

FNGLA’s Industry Awards Program acknowledges both FNGLA and industry service – with varying criteria geared for each award. Nominations are accepted from the industry-at-large and winners are selected by a committee of industry peers.

The Wendell Butler Award and the FNGLA Hall of Fame are recognized as the most prestigious awards given by FNGLA. The Wendell Butler Award is presented for service to FNGLA and the FNGLA Hall of Fame Award is a lifetime achievement award. Nominations are accepted from the industry at large.

FNGLA Hall of Fame Inductees:

1) Jake Koornneef

Delray Plants Co. (Venus, FL)


2) Larry Walker

Nurserymen’s Sure-Gro Corp. (Vero Beach, FL)


Wendell E. Butler Award:

3) Chet Peckett

Peckett’s, Inc. (Apopka, FL)


Farm Credit / FNGLA Young Nursery Professional:

1) Ty Strode

Agri-Starts, Inc. (Apopka, FL)

FNGLA Outstanding Volunteer Member:

1) Mike Tevelonis

Botanics Wholesale (Homestead, FL)

FNGLA Outstanding Educator:

1) Erin Harlow

Duval CountyExtension, UF/IFAS (Jacksonville, FL)

FNGLA Friend of the Industry:

1) Ananth Prasad, P.E., Secretary

Florida Department of Transportation (Tallahassee, FL)

FNGLA Outstanding Chapter President:

1) Shaun Brown

Shade Tree Farm, Inc., FNGLA Frontrunners Chapter (Morriston, FL)

FNGLA Outstanding Chapter Secretary:

1) Lou Harrelson

Salmon’s Wholesale Nursery, FNGLA Frontrunners Chapter (Ocala, FL)



You must be logged in to post a comment.


FB Like Box